I am trying to add the attached DCP to a project.
I am getting the following error message - Error: Could not find essence type()
Any advice? Thanks.
Getting error adding DCP
-
- Posts: 5
- Joined: Mon Feb 12, 2024 3:52 pm
Getting error adding DCP
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
-
- Site Admin
- Posts: 2548
- Joined: Thu Nov 14, 2013 2:53 pm
Re: Getting error adding DCP
There is something wrong with the MXF header in one (or both) of your MXF files so that the asdcplib library cannot find what type it is (JPEG, PCM, timed text etc.).
How did you make the MXFs?
How did you make the MXFs?
-
- Posts: 5
- Joined: Mon Feb 12, 2024 3:52 pm
Re: Getting error adding DCP
Thanks for the quick response.
I made the DCP package with our software and a customer complained that our package can't be played in DCP-o-matic.
If I add the video and audio MXF files through 'Add file(s)...' I don't get an error message.
Only if I use 'Add DCP...' - I get 'Error: Could not find essence type()'
I made the DCP package with our software and a customer complained that our package can't be played in DCP-o-matic.
If I add the video and audio MXF files through 'Add file(s)...' I don't get an error message.
Only if I use 'Add DCP...' - I get 'Error: Could not find essence type()'
-
- Site Admin
- Posts: 2548
- Joined: Thu Nov 14, 2013 2:53 pm
Re: Getting error adding DCP
Adding the MXFs separately will miss out some checks.
Does the DCP play on a DCI projector?
Does the DCP play on a DCI projector?
-
- Posts: 5
- Joined: Mon Feb 12, 2024 3:52 pm
Re: Getting error adding DCP
I don't have an information about playback on DCI projectors.
Where in the source code is 'Error: Could not find essence type()' generated?
Where in the source code is 'Error: Could not find essence type()' generated?
-
- Site Admin
- Posts: 2548
- Joined: Thu Nov 14, 2013 2:53 pm
Re: Getting error adding DCP
It happens because this method in asdcplib does not return `RESULT_OK`
-
- Posts: 5
- Joined: Mon Feb 12, 2024 3:52 pm
Re: Getting error adding DCP
There is a bug in your code.
libdcp/src/asset_factory.cc line 65:
if (result != ASDCP::RESULT_OK) {
should be
if ( ASDCP_SUCCESS(result) == false) {
'ASDCP::EssenceType' may return RESULT_FALSE which is KM_DECLARE_RESULT(FALSE,1, "Successful but not true.");
This happens for example when the MXF header is missing an optional value - then ASDCP returns RESULT_FALSE - since no check was performed.
Please consider fixing it.
libdcp/src/asset_factory.cc line 65:
if (result != ASDCP::RESULT_OK) {
should be
if ( ASDCP_SUCCESS(result) == false) {
'ASDCP::EssenceType' may return RESULT_FALSE which is KM_DECLARE_RESULT(FALSE,1, "Successful but not true.");
This happens for example when the MXF header is missing an optional value - then ASDCP returns RESULT_FALSE - since no check was performed.
Please consider fixing it.
-
- Site Admin
- Posts: 2548
- Joined: Thu Nov 14, 2013 2:53 pm
Re: Getting error adding DCP
I'll take a look, but the library relies on finding the type of MXF this way so it might be a bit involved. Given that I don't remember seeing this error before I wouldn't be surprised if other systems also had difficulty when this value is missing.
-
- Posts: 5
- Joined: Mon Feb 12, 2024 3:52 pm
Re: Getting error adding DCP
The way ASDCP's checks work: The last positive return code is returned (or error)
If the last check happens to be a missing optional value - then you get OK_FALSE = 1
My DCPs are missing an optional value that is checked last in ASDCP.
If you browse through ASDCP's source code - almost always they use ASDCP_SUCCESS(result) and not result != ASDCP::RESULT_OK.
If you want I can submit a pull request.
If the last check happens to be a missing optional value - then you get OK_FALSE = 1
My DCPs are missing an optional value that is checked last in ASDCP.
If you browse through ASDCP's source code - almost always they use ASDCP_SUCCESS(result) and not result != ASDCP::RESULT_OK.
If you want I can submit a pull request.
-
- Site Admin
- Posts: 2548
- Joined: Thu Nov 14, 2013 2:53 pm
Re: Getting error adding DCP
Ah right I see what you mean, sorry. I thought the main picture/sound essence types were not being set. I'll fix the check.